Geography Department Awards & Graduation Reception Autumn 2019

December 20, 2019

At the Autumn Geography Department Awards and Graduation Reception on December 13, 2019, the department presented awards to our outstanding Students.

Undergraduate Awards:

We awarded three undergraduate awards to three outstanding students and recognized students as part of the Autumn 2019 graduating class. Each student awardee received a scholarship for the 2019-20 academic year thanks to support from our generous donors.

The Sharpe Scholarship for Outstanding Undergraduates is provided with funds from the Gary L. Sharpe Scholarship Fund in Geography, established in 2010. Gary L. Sharpe was a graduate of Ohio State, and earned his B.A. in 1970. The scholarship provides generous funds for undergraduate students from Ohio, majoring in Geography. Students who receive this award are chosen based on their excellence in the classroom.

The Sharpe Scholarship for Outstanding Undergraduate for Autumn 2019 recipient was Ethan Carver-Dews.

Dr. Darla Munroe (Department Chair) and Ethan Carver-Dews.

The Robinson Award for Outstanding Undergraduates in Geographic Information Science and Spatial Analysis was established with funds from the Arthur H. Robinson Fund.  Professor Robinson received his PhD from Ohio State in 1947 and went on to have a storied career at the University of Wisconsin.  The goal of the Robinson award is to honor students’ achievement in the classroom and who are also significantly engaged in research, service and leadership.

The Robinson Award for Outstanding Undergraduate for Autumn 2019 recipient was Stephanie Crisco.