News Brief from our Chair Darla Munroe

May 10, 2019

News Brief from our Chair Darla Munroe

2019 Grad Awards

Geography Awards and Graduation Reception. Graduate student awards from left to right: Jenny McGibbon (Rayner), Rohit Mukherjee (Lakshmanan Chatterjee), Yuechun Wang (Fenburr), Chengfei He (Miller) and Jinhyung Lee (Miller). Faculty: Becky Mansfield and Darla Munroe. Photo: Jocelyn Nevel.

Student News:

Jinhyung Lee (PhD candidate, advisor Harvey Miller) received a travel award to participate in the AAG-UCGIS Summer School 2019 on Reproducible Problem Solving with CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, to be held at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, in July.

Forrest Schoessow (PhD student, advisor Bryan Mark) won a Next Generation Innovator of the Year award from the Office of Research and the Corporate Engagement Office.

Alumni News:

Students graduating in SP 2019



Thesis Title

Crane, Dakota


'Future Changes to Species' Range Along the South American Coast Based on Statistically Downscaled SST Projections'

Gunderson, Jeff


'Assessing the Dendroclimatological Potential of Polylepis rodolfo-vasquezii in the Cordillera Huaytapallana, Peru'

Hammock, Brookes


'Policing the Opioid Crisis'

Li, Lingwei


'Understanding Antarctic Circumpolar Current Transport at the LGM in an Isotope-enabled Climate Model'

Sambuco, Emily 


'Exploring microclimates in Great Basin National Park using and Embedded Sensor Network'

Schenkel, Jared


'Assessing the Impact of Public Transit System Redesign on Social Equity Using Space-Time Accessibility Measures'

Sylvander, Nora


'Making spaces of difference: spatially exclusionary policies in resolving natural resource and territorial conflicts in Nicaragua's Bosawas Biosphere Reserve'

Thibault, Mary Grace


'Modeling seagoing migration of early Homo via paleoclimate drift experiments to Sulawesi, Indonesia'

Wang, Yuechun


'Investigating Soil Moisture–Precipitation Feedback on the North American Monsoon System in the WRF Model'


Upcoming Events:

The Geography Department Kick-Off will be Monday, August 19th.


Darla Munroe
Professor and Interim Chair